Richard Nisbett

Richard Nisbett

Professional Experience:

The University of Michigan
Theodore M. Newcomb Distinguished University Professor, 1992-
Co-Director, Culture and Cognition Program, 1991-
Director, Research Center for Group Dynamics, 1989-1996.
Director, Cognitive Science Program, 1983-1984.
Professor of Psychology, 1976-
Associate Professor of Psychology, 1971-1976.

Yale University
Assistant Professor of Psychology, 1966-1971.

A.B., 1962, Tufts University, Psychology major.
Ph.D., 1966, Columbia University, Department of Social Psychology.

Undergraduate Honors:
A.B. Summa cum laude, Society of Scholars, Phi Beta Kappa.

Graduate Honors:
John W. Burgess Honorary Fellowship 1964; University Fellow, 1962-1963; President’s Fellow, 1963-1965; NSF Fellow, 1965-1966.

Professional Honors:
Langfeld Lecturer, Princeton University, 1980.
Invited to be a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences, 1981.
Donald T. Campbell Award for Distinguished Research in Social Psychology, awarded by the American Psychological Association, 1982.
Donald Taylor Memorial Lecturer, Yale University, 1984.
Invited Address: British Psychological Society Meeting, 1985.
William Howard Taft Lecturer in Philosophy, University of Cincinnati, 1989.
Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, American Psychological Association, 1991.
Ernest Hilgard Lecturer, Stanford University, 1992.
Carl Hovland Lecturer, Yale University, 1992.
Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1992.
Invited Address: French Psychological Society, 1993.
Distinguished Senior Scientist Award, Society for Experimental Social Psychology, 1995
Wei Lun Visiting Professor of Psychology, Chinese University of Hong Kong, 1995.
William James Fellow Award for Distinguished Scientific Achievements, American Psychological Society, 1996.
Invited Address, American Psychological Society, 1997.
J. McKeen Cattell Fellowship Award, 1998.
Keynote Address, Human Behavior and Evolution Society, 1998.
Edward E. Jones Memorial Lectures, Princeton University, 2001.
Russell Sage Foundation Visiting Scholar, 2001
John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, 2002
Elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 2002